Chapter Eight.2

Joy awoke to hearing Daniel in the shower. She got up so that she could fix him breakfast before he left for work.

As she cooked, she practically hummed as her remaining sleep had been nightmare-free.

“Is that humming I hear? Are you that happy to be rid of me?” Daniel said as he placed a kiss on the back of her neck.

“I just slept really well once we went back to bed. How about you?”

“Not too bad. I was up a while thinking about you. Please call Dr. Mayer today and mention me; you’ll get an appointment sooner. Just meet with him once and if you don’t like him, we can try someone else. Okay?”

“Just so it will put you more at ease.” Joy said, placing Daniel’s plate before him and sitting down to drink coffee with him. “So what time will you be home? I think I will go see Ben and take him some clothes this morning. Or did you want me to wait and we go together?”

“No, you go ahead. I’m going by tonight while you go to your meeting. I should be home about one-thirty or so. Why don’t we go out for lunch since your meeting’s at dinnertime?”

“Lunch sounds great. I think I will bring Ben home tomorrow as he will be starting pre-kindergarten in just over a week. We got lots to do before then.”

“Just so you don’t overwhelm yourself, it sounds great. I left Dr. Mayer’s number by the phone.”

“Yes, Daniel, I am going to call right at nine on the dot.” She collected Daniel’s plate and utensils and rinsed them in the sink.

“I’m not trying to be a nag; I just worry about you.” Daniel said as he gathered his keys, cell, and briefcase.

“I know you do and I actually appreciate all your attention and concern. I promise to call and get an appointment. Don’t worry about me; I’m doing okay this morning.” Joy leaned up and kissed Daniel softly on the mouth.

“I am glad to hear this, but don’t get discouraged if the bad feelings come back. That’s the way it is; they tend to come and go.” Daniel hugged her tightly.

“Go on to work; I’ll be fine for a few hours by myself.” Joy said as much to convince herself as to convince Daniel as she waved him off.

About mlsnead

Stay-at-home wife and mother of two. Senior student at Old Dominion University obtaining Bachelor's in Nursing and Bachelor's in Psychology. Favorite activities include reading, crocheting, and needlework, and of course writing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Chapter Eight.2

  1. Pingback: Chapter Eight.2 | OMISSION

Leave a Reply

