Chapter Seventeen

“I must say, I never thought I would see you in this office again.” Dr. Mayer said to Joy.

“Daniel convinced me that to have gotten so angry with you, I must have unfinished business that needs resolving.” Joy twirled her engagement ring around as she avoided Dr. Mayer’s gaze.

“Does he have any idea what the unfinished business is?”

“Of course he doesn’t know. I told you that I am never telling him about that. Besides, that is not the only issue going on in my life. We were notified of a trial date; it’s less than two months away.” Joy stated as she stared out the window.

“How do you feel about that?”

“Like I would just as soon it never happened; I finally have my life back. But not just back, it’s better. Daniel and I are doing great, Ben is thriving, and life is good. I don’t want to go back to all that ugliness.”

“Well, that is certainly understandable. But don’t you want to see justice done; see your rapist punished?” Dr. Mayer tapped his pen against the chart to try and divert Joy’s attention back to him, rather than out the window.

Joy looked at him. “To be honest, I just don’t care anymore. I know that makes me non-citizen of the month, but it’s how I feel.”

“Joy, there are no ‘wrong’ feelings. What you are saying is normal. Most people don’t want to have to go back and revisit the scene of the crime. But you do need to get through this trial. If you’ll let me, I’ll help you get through it.” Dr. Mayer gave her the heavy stare through his glasses look.

“What is the big deal with me ‘needing’ to get through this trial? Prosecutors make deals with defense attorneys all the time. I just think that is what needs to happen in this case. The rapist will still have to serve some significant time, and on top of that, I don’t have to testify.” Joy stared back at the doctor, her nervousness showing with her shaking hands.

“Is that your main concern; testifying?”

“Yes, the more talking I have to do the more chance of unwanted pieces of information may come to light.” Joy covered her mouth with her hand; this conversation was making her feel highly uneasy.

“Well, Joy. I wouldn’t hold my breath for a plea. The state has a solid case, from what I understand. I can help you deal with all of this. But you need to be prepared that you are not going to like everything I have to say.” Dr. Mayer looked meaningfully at Joy.

“Oh, I am sure I am not going to like everything you have to say. But as long as we stay away from that one issue, we’ll be just fine.” Joy said with determination.

Dr. Mayer Chuckled. “I’ll give it to you; you are one single-minded woman.”

“If that means that I will do anything to protect my family from the ugly truth, then I will have to say that statement is pretty straight on.”

About mlsnead

Stay-at-home wife and mother of two. Senior student at Old Dominion University obtaining Bachelor's in Nursing and Bachelor's in Psychology. Favorite activities include reading, crocheting, and needlework, and of course writing.
This entry was posted in erotic romantic fiction and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

